#nostoneunturned for the 2024 World Cup campaign

The Australian 2024 World Cup campaign is underway following the selection of the Australian players, along with a highly skilled and regarded coaching and management team.

An all-new coaching structure — a overall team coach, supported by women’s and men’s coaches — for the World Cup sees Australian polocrosse align with other leading sporting bodies to best meet player and stakeholder needs.

The coaching contingent for the World Cup team consists of Kent Wells, Queensland (Team Coach), Jane Marriott, WA (Women’s Coach) Will Weston, NSW (Men’s Coach).

“We have never had three coaches to support our World Cup players before and this is a deliberate move by Polocrosse Australia to take our game to the next level,” said Polocrosse Australia President, Mick Templeton.

“The change is part of the organisation’s ‘no-stone-unturned’ campaign to not only defend our World Cup title, but to also win our first on international soil.

“The dynamic between Kent Wells, Will Weston and Jane Marriott is exceptional. The strength they hold as a unit, particularly their representative experience and South African game experience, is unrivalled.

“This skill and experience gives us the best chance to take our first ever World Cup win overseas.”

Team manager, Pip Crook, and Assistant manager, Katie Yeo will provide the coaches and players with a seamless lead-up and participation experience in the highly anticipated event.

The players

The announcement of the eight-member team was made at the Chinchilla Polocrosse Carnival during August, as part of the countdown to the sport’s Nationals.

“There’s no better place to make this announcement given we’re 12 months out from our Australian Polocrosse Nationals – set to be hosted by Chinchilla Polocrosse Club in 2024,” said Mick.

“Grassroots club polocrosse is where the representative polocrosse journey begins.”

The open women’s team consists of Sam Allen (Tansey, QLD), Lindsey Doolan (Chinchilla, QLD), Lucy Grills (Albury/Holbrook, NSW) and Beth Hafey (Tansey, QLD).

The open men’s team consists of Corey Buys (Sale, Victoria), Matt Davison (Gold Coast, Queensland), Jimmy Grills (Albury/Holbrook, NSW) and Tom O’Neill (Tansey, QLD).

Australia is the reigning World Cup trophy holder, defeating South Africa in 2019 in Warwick, QLD. The win saw Australia become the first country to win the trophy three times. Will it be four times in 2024 on South African soil?

Scroll to Top
Skip to content